Where I want to go in this course…

The beauty of news is that extends over a variety of subjects, demographics, locations, etc. In my eyes, with versatility comes opportunity. The idea that as a journalist in this day and age, you don’t have to be confined to just one area of news, is enticing and exciting to me.

Growing up in my grade school system, I knew I had passion for writing. There was something about expressing my thoughts, beliefs and creativity through written word that I derived so much joy from.

Fast forward about 10 years or so, and my love for writing remains unwavering, and I’ve been lucky enough to find ways to share my writing with others. Entering college as an eager freshman, I was fortunate enough to be given the position as news editor for The Dragon Chronicle, our school’s newspaper. This position allowed me to learn more about the revising and editing process and get more inclined with the news writing style. My sophomore year, to accommodate, I switched over to Sports editor my sophomore year. Now, as a second semester junior, I’m juggling the positions of opinions editor and Editor-in-Chief. Some might call me crazy to juggle both these jobs on top of 16.5 hours at the coffee-shop and 16 credits, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. A busy lifestyle is something I thrive on, as it helps me stay on top of things.

Anyways, in terms of this course, I hope to broaden my knowledge on world news and learn more about how to be a successful reporter in all facets. I like the idea of analyzing several different news sources from all across the world and comparing and contrasting their reporting styles and how they present crucial news to the public. It’s clear that there’s a science to how news agencies present their information, and I think this class will help to uncover the logistics employed by the likes of the Associated Press, or CNN.

Leave a comment